Dynamics 365 Customer Insights: CDP & Real-Time Marketing [2026]
Dynamics 365 Customer Insights is Microsoft's customer data platform (CDP) and journey-orchestration app: Customer Insights - Data unifies customer profiles from multiple sources, and Customer Insights - Journeys runs trigger-based customer journeys. Microsoft lists it from $1,700 per tenant per month, paid yearly.
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Customer Insights is Microsoft's customer data platform (CDP) and journey-orchestration application. Customer Insights – Data unifies customer data into single profiles, and Customer Insights – Journeys builds trigger-based customer journeys across channels. Microsoft lists the base plan at $1,700.00 per tenant per month, paid yearly, as of 2026-10-29, with unlimited users.
This guide is an independent reference for buyers evaluating Dynamics 365 Customer Insights. It explains the two capabilities, how profile unification and journeys work, what the pricing includes and how it differs from per-user CRM pricing, and when it fits next to Sales or Customer Service. Every factual and pricing claim links to a Microsoft source; there are no vendor statistics, ranking claims or case studies.
What Is Dynamics 365 Customer Insights?
Microsoft's documentation describes Dynamics 365 Customer Insights as two applications that work together: Dynamics 365 Customer Insights – Data and Dynamics 365 Customer Insights – Journeys (Microsoft Learn: Customer Insights documentation). On its product page, Microsoft says it “acts as the intelligence layer to power agentic customer experience” and invites buyers to “bring data and engagement together” across sales, marketing and service (Microsoft: Dynamics 365 Customer Insights). It is part of the wider Dynamics 365 CRM stack but is sold and priced differently from the sales and service apps.
The Two Capabilities: Data (CDP) and Journeys (Marketing)
| Capability | What Microsoft says it does | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Customer Insights – Data | “Microsoft's customer data platform (CDP)” that gives a holistic view of customers by unifying customer data with operational and IoT data, with prebuilt AI models and enrichment from Microsoft and partner data sources. | Microsoft Learn |
| Customer Insights – Journeys | Lets business users “build trigger-based journeys that reach customers across multiple touch-points”, using email, text message or push notification channels. | Microsoft Learn |
Microsoft's pricing page says buyers can “start with customer data platform or journey orchestration, and add what you need” (Microsoft pricing), so the two parts are not an all-or-nothing choice.
Unifying Customer Profiles
Unification is the core job of the data side. Microsoft says it “combines your various customer data sources and creates a single customer profile record per customer”, eliminating duplicate data and data silos. The process has four steps (Microsoft Learn: Data unification overview):
- Customer data: select the source data that holds customer profile information and map columns to descriptive types.
- Deduplication: define rules to find multiple rows for one customer and choose the best row to represent them.
- Matching conditions: define rules that match customer records between tables into a single consolidated record.
- Unified data view: choose which columns to include, exclude or merge into the unified profile.
Each unified profile receives a unique CustomerId. Microsoft notes that this ID stays the same between unification runs except when profiles merge or split because source data or rules change. From unified profiles you can create segments and measures, which Microsoft lists alongside data sources and exports in its getting-started guidance (Microsoft Learn).
Microsoft positions governance as part of the product: it says the CDP is “built on Microsoft Azure” with “built-in privacy, security, and governance tools” to help support privacy laws and other requirements (Microsoft Learn). That does not replace your own data-protection review. Customer data from several systems in one profile raises consent and retention questions that your team and partner still have to answer.
Real-Time Marketing Journeys
Microsoft describes the journeys side with three questions: who, what and when (Microsoft Learn: Customer Insights - Journeys overview, page dated 2026-10-13).
- Who: the audience is defined by a segment, a subset of contacts that meet some criteria.
- What: the content, which can be an email, a push notification or a text message, used separately or together.
- When: a planned time, or an event that triggers the communication as part of a journey. Microsoft documents both segment-based journeys and trigger-based journeys that respond to a customer's action.
Microsoft also lists AI-assisted features, including building segments with natural language and AI-driven recommendations for content and channels, and says segments and profiles from Customer Insights – Data can be used inside Journeys (Microsoft Learn; Customer Insights documentation). On its product page, Microsoft also lists a Journey Creation Agent, A/B testing and SMS and voice engagement through an AI agent (Microsoft). Treat those as Microsoft's own product claims and confirm what is generally available for your tenant and region before you buy.
Pricing
Customer Insights is priced differently from the per-user CRM apps. Microsoft states that Customer Insights – Data “is licensed per tenant” and that more capacity can be purchased with add-on licenses (Microsoft Learn). The figures below come from Microsoft's Customer Insights pricing page, checked 2026-10-29. All prices are USD.
| Plan | List price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Base plan | $1,700.00 per tenant per month, paid yearly | Unlimited users, 100,000 Unified People, 10,000 Interacted People |
| Attach plan | $1,000.00 per tenant per month, paid yearly | 100,000 Unified People and 10,000 Interacted People, for organizations with a qualifying Dynamics 365 application |
The attach plan carries a condition. Microsoft's footnote says it requires a minimum of 10 users of Dynamics 365 Customer Service Professional or Enterprise, Sales Professional, Enterprise or Premium, Field Service, Finance, Supply Chain Management or Commerce (Microsoft pricing).
Capacity add-on packs (billed per pack per month, paid yearly, per Microsoft pricing):
| Add-on | Tier | Price per pack | Pack size |
|---|---|---|---|
| Unified People | 100,000–500,000 | $2,000.00 | 100,000 people |
| Unified People | 500,000–2 million | $1,500.00 | 100,000 people |
| Unified People | More than 2 million | $1,000.00 | 100,000 people |
| Interacted People | 10,000–50,000 | $250.00 | 5,000 people |
| Interacted People | 50,000–250,000 | $300.00 | 10,000 people |
| Interacted People | More than 250,000 | $500.00 | 50,000 people |
Microsoft defines Unified People as uniquely identified individuals created from defined data source sets. Interacted People are Dataverse entities, such as contacts, leads, accounts or profiles, that have been interacted with by an outbound or inbound interaction (Microsoft pricing footnotes). Microsoft's page does not say what email, SMS or push sending costs, so confirm that with Microsoft or your partner. It also notes that prices “may not be reflective of actual list price due to currency, country, and regional variant factors”.
Pricing as of 2026-10-29. Customer Insights is priced per tenant, not per user. Refresh trigger: the next Dynamics 365 release wave, or any change to the Customer Insights pricing page or the Dynamics 365 Licensing Guide. For the per-user CRM price list, see Dynamics 365 CRM pricing.
What Is Dynamics 365 Customer Engagement? CRM Naming Explained [2026]
Customer Engagement is the name for the CRM side of Dynamics 365: Sales, Customer Service, Field Service and more on Dataverse. Here is what the name means and what it does not.
Read MoreCustomer Insights vs. Sales and Customer Service
The apps solve different problems and are bought separately.
| App | Main job | Priced |
|---|---|---|
| Sales | Track accounts and contacts, move deals from lead to order, forecast (Microsoft Learn) | Per user per month |
| Customer Service | Track customer issues through cases and manage conversations across channels (Microsoft Learn) | Per user per month |
| Customer Insights | Unify customer data and run journeys (Microsoft Learn) | Per tenant per month |
Consider adding Customer Insights when customer data lives in several systems, when you want outreach triggered by customer actions, or when sales and service teams need a shared view of a customer. Microsoft's Sales documentation notes that Sales itself supports marketing lists and campaigns, so a team with simple campaign needs may not need a separate journeys tool (Microsoft Learn). Our CRM modules guide compares all the apps.
What to Check Before You Buy
Pricing is simple to read but easy to under-scope. Before you commit, work through these points against the Microsoft pages cited above:
- Profile volume. Count the unique customers you expect to unify. The base plan includes 100,000 Unified People; beyond that you buy add-on packs.
- Interaction volume. Interacted People are counted separately from Unified People, and the base plan includes 10,000.
- Eligibility for the attach plan. Confirm you meet the 10-user minimum on a listed Dynamics 365 app.
- Sending costs. Microsoft's pricing page does not state what email, text and push sending cost, so ask.
- Trial. Microsoft offers a free trial of Customer Insights – Data to test the application with your own customer data (Microsoft Learn).
Microsoft Ecosystem & Data Integration
Microsoft describes Customer Insights – Data as “an enterprise-grade CDP built on Microsoft Azure” with “turnkey integrations with Microsoft and partner applications” (Microsoft Learn). Its documentation hub lists Microsoft Dataverse as a related product, and the pricing footnote defines Interacted People in terms of Dataverse entities (Microsoft Learn; Microsoft pricing), which is how Customer Insights connects to the Dataverse-based Sales and Customer Service apps. For how Dataverse underpins the CRM family, see Customer Engagement explained and our Dataverse integration guide. For the AI angle, our insights article on AI and customer retention is a useful companion.
Sources
- Dynamics 365 Customer Insights pricing (Microsoft)
- Dynamics 365 Customer Insights (Microsoft)
- Dynamics 365 Customer Insights documentation (Microsoft Learn)
- Product overview for Dynamics 365 Customer Insights - Data (Microsoft Learn)
- Data unification overview (Microsoft Learn)
- Customer Insights - Journeys overview (Microsoft Learn)
- Welcome to Dynamics 365 Sales (Microsoft Learn)
- Welcome to Dynamics 365 Customer Service (Microsoft Learn)
- Dynamics 365 Licensing Guide (Microsoft)
Last reviewed: October 2026. Pricing and licensing terms are subject to change. Verify current rates on the official Microsoft pricing pages or with your Microsoft partner before making purchasing decisions.
Customer Insights base plan vs attach plan
| Feature | Base plan | Attach plan | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| List price (USD, paid yearly, as of 2026-10-29) | $1,700.00 per tenant per month | $1,000.00 per tenant per month | |
| Unified People included | 100,000 | 100,000 | |
| Interacted People included | 10,000 | 10,000 | |
| Users | Unlimited | Not stated on the pricing page for the attach plan | |
| Eligibility | None stated | Organizations with a qualifying Dynamics 365 application (minimum of 10 users of a listed app) |
Frequently Asked Questions
1What is Dynamics 365 Customer Insights?
Dynamics 365 Customer Insights is Microsoft's customer data platform and customer-journey app. Customer Insights - Data unifies customer data into single profiles, and Customer Insights - Journeys lets teams build trigger-based journeys that reach customers by email, text message and push notification.
2How much does Dynamics 365 Customer Insights cost?
As of 2026-10-29, Microsoft's pricing page lists a base plan at $1,700.00 per tenant per month, paid yearly, with unlimited users, 100,000 Unified People and 10,000 Interacted People. An attach plan is listed at $1,000.00 per tenant per month for organizations with a qualifying Dynamics 365 application. Prices may differ by currency, country and region.
3Is Customer Insights priced per user?
No. Microsoft licenses Customer Insights per tenant and sells extra capacity as add-on packs. The base plan includes unlimited users, so cost scales with Unified People and Interacted People rather than seats.
4What are Unified People and Interacted People?
Microsoft defines Unified People as uniquely identified individuals created from defined data source sets, built from multiple systems and represented by a profile. Interacted People are Dataverse entities such as contacts, leads, accounts or profiles that have been interacted with through an outbound or inbound interaction.
5What is the Customer Insights attach plan?
The attach plan is a lower-priced tenant plan for organizations that already license certain Dynamics 365 apps. Microsoft's footnote requires a minimum of 10 users of Customer Service Professional or Enterprise, Sales Professional, Enterprise or Premium, Field Service, Finance, Supply Chain Management or Commerce.
6Do I need Customer Insights if I already have Dynamics 365 Sales or Customer Service?
Not necessarily. Sales and Customer Service manage sales and support work. Customer Insights adds unified customer profiles across sources and journeys that act on them. Consider it when your customer data sits in several systems or when you want to trigger outreach from customer behavior.
Related Reading
Dynamics 365 CRM: The Complete Guide [2026]
The hub and pillar for the Dynamics 365 CRM apps.
Dynamics 365 CRM Pricing: Every Edition Explained [2026]
CRM list prices by app and edition.
Dynamics 365 CRM Modules: The CE App Family Explained [2026]
What each app in the CRM family does.
Dynamics 365 Customer Service: Features, Editions & Pricing [2026]
Microsoft's case-management and omnichannel support app.